NVQ Levels Explained

NVQ levels and QCF

NVQ Levels are now progressing under the Qualification and Credit Framework (QCF) in the UK, although the change happened years ago, there are still many people who use the NVQ level term to describe the qualifications in the industry. There is not much difference in the qualification levels and the structure of the education. The Vocational Qualification remains throughout the years, and many students and professionals in the industry obtain a qualification level to progress in the career path.

NVQ areas

The National Vocational Qualification is recognised in the UK. The awards, certifications and diplomas are obtained in many different areas in the industry. The NVQ areas are as follows:

  • Tending animals, plants and land
  • Extracting and providing natural resources
  • Constructing
  • Engineering
  • Manufacturing
  • Transporting
  • Providing goods and services
  • Providing health, social and protective services
  • Providing business service
  • Communicating
  • Developing and extending knowledge and skills

NVQ Levels Explained

NVQ Levels

There are 1-5 Levels in the National Vocational Qualification which is now progressed as 1-8 Levels in the Qualification and Credit Framework in the UK. Each level of qualification is equivalent to a higher education certification.

  • Entry Level NVQ
  • Certificate Level
  • Diploma Level
  • Higher National Diploma/ Degree Level
  • Master’s Degree

For example, the NVQ Level 6 Diploma in Construction Site Management is equivalent to a bachelor’s degree. In the construction management sector, the NVQ Level 6 qualification is a progressive and recognised certification to qualify a candidate as a professional. The NVQ Level 6 can help a candidate to progress in becoming an MCIOB through the Professional Review. Candidates who possess the Level 6 qualification can advance to obtaining the Level 7 qualification which is equivalent to a master’s degree. The NVQ level 6 qualification also allows a candidate to be eligible to apply for the CSCS black card. Candidates can obtain a direct pathway to apply for the RICS APC  AssocRICS qualification and further progress in becoming a Chartered Quantity Surveyor with an MRICS designation. Online colleges such as the College of Contract Management offers NVQ courses through their live online lectures and flexible virtual study platform.

The Value of NVQ Levels

The NVQ Levels qualification is valuable in the construction industry. Many employers and professional firms recommend employees who possess an NVQ level qualification while hiring. A candidate can build a career in the construction industry with an NVQ level qualification, earn higher salaries and advance in becoming a professional with recognised professional bodies such as the Chartered Institute of Building or the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.

+ There are no comments

Add yours

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.